LibGuides: Buffalo Public School Libraries: Student Resources

The Databases listed below, are a only a few of the databases available to BPS students and teachers. Please see your librarian for the password to access the databases. The full list can be found on the menu on the right of the page.

GALE Database Elementary Version

Great database for elementary level research.

Uses pictures and organized nicely by topic to engage young researchers.

GALE Databases

Find thousands of current articles and reference material for research.

(see help sheets below for more information)

GALE Middle School in Context Database

Social Studies, History, Literature for middle school & up

(see help sheets below for more information)

GALE Science in Context Database

Current and reference science articles for research

(see help sheets below for more information)

GALE Opposing Viewpoints Database

Dozens of current news topics and controversial issues articles

(see help sheets below for more information)

GALE Reference E-book Collection

Subjects include: history, literature, arts, science, multicultural studies, law, biography, religion, environment, nation & world, and social science.

General Resources for Citing sources using the APA style.

APA - American Psychological Association

Links that explains APA citation style use

Links:

APA Style Guide

In-Text Citations (from APA Style Guide)

OWL at Purdue APA Citation Resources

APA Citation tools from SUNY Erie

APA Style Guide from SUNY Erie

General Resources for Citing sources using the APA style.

MLA - Modern Language Association

Links that explains MLA citation style use

Links:

OWL at Purdue MLA Citation Resources

MLA Citation tool from Easy Bib

MLA Citation tools from SUNY Erie

MLA Style Guide from SUNY Erie

The following databases are free to all users from New York State from the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library (NOVELny). The listed databases are a sample of the resources available through NOVELny.

Main link to NOVELny Databases and Collections: Resources

GALE ACADEMIC ONEFILE GALE ACADEMIC ONEFILE SELECT

GALE IN CONTEXT Elementary GALE IN CONTEXT Middle School

GALE IN CONTEXT Opposing Viewpoints GALE ONEFILE High School Edition

GALE POWER SEARCH THE NEW YORK TIMES

Below are links to resources offered from the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library:

BECPL home page

Search the BECPL Catalog

BECPL Hours

What's Happening at BECPL

Research & Resources

BECPL Databases

BECPL Subject Guides

Genealogy Resources

Immigrant, Refugee and New Citizen Resources

Parent Resources

Other Library Services

The resources linked on this page are from the New York Public Library. New York State residents are able to access and use NYPL resources. That includes applying for a NYPL Library Card.

Buffalo Public School Libraries: Student Resources

Information is the key to a successful life, live informed...

Student Resources

The Databases listed below, are a only a few of the databases available to BPS students and teachers. Please see your librarian for the password to access the databases. The full list can be found on the menu on the right of the page.

Great database for elementary level research.

Uses pictures and organized nicely by topic to engage young researchers.

Find thousands of current articles and reference material for research.

(see help sheets below for more information)

Social Studies, History, Literature for middle school & up

(see help sheets below for more information)

Current and reference science articles for research

(see help sheets below for more information)

Dozens of current news topics and controversial issues articles

(see help sheets below for more information)

Subjects include: history, literature, arts, science, multicultural studies, law, biography, religion, environment, nation & world, and social science.

The following databases are free to all users from New York State from the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library (NOVELny). The listed databases are a sample of the resources available through NOVELny.

Main link to NOVELny Databases and Collections: Resources

Below are links to resources offered from the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library:

The resources linked on this page are from the New York Public Library. New York State residents are able to access and use NYPL resources. That includes applying for a NYPL Library Card.

Here is the full list of available databases offered by Buffalo Schools. See your Librarian about the password to access databases.

Buffalo Schools Library System